Operation Slumbertime

15099773683_f36735afc7_oIf you have been following my blog, you may have read about V’s erratic sleeping habits in my coffee update post.

Although I mentioned it only towards the end of the post, I would be lying if I said that it was the last thing on my mind when I wrote the post.

This sudden change in V’s sleeping pattern started sometime after his second birthday in early October. Thanks to Babycenter, I did expect a few changes in his sleep pattern. However, I foolishly assumed it to mean that V would simply skip one of his morning naps. I couldn’t have been more mistaken. In V’s case, there was hardly any change in his daytime nap. Instead, he starting sleeping less at night. He would sleep for two to three hours post his usual bedtime at night and then wake up refreshed and stay awake till  5 or 6 Am in the morning (today he was awake from 2:30 AM to 8:00 AM). He would then sleep for about 6 to 7 hours at a stretch and wake up only in the afternoon. Obviously, the system was wrong.

At first I thought it could be because of lots of unspent physical energy and tried to increase the amount of physical activity that I usually try to include in V’s daily routine. However, I found it increasingly difficult to include outdoor activities after the end of daylight saving, and the onset of autumn (or is it winter already?). Instead, I tried to include as many indoor activities as I could think of such as dancing, jumping and running around the house. Still, it didn’t work and so my poor hubby was left with no choice but to deal with my sleep deprived alter ego; waiting to snap, snarl and bite.

Sleep

So, after going through various stages of whining, ranting, crying, guilt, self-pity, frustration, anger and then trying to make a change and failing miserably, I was back to Square One. Tired of cribbing about the same thing to anybody who would bother to talk to me, I have finally come to the conclusion that this task needs to be tackled in a bit more organised and planned manner.

And That, my friends is how Operation Slumbertime came into being.

Here is what I plan to do:

Step 1 :

Try and create a sleep journal (akin to a diet journal), to log in the number of hours that V sleeps during the day and if there is a pattern to it. Hopefully, it helps in identifying the problem. *Fingers crossed*

Depending on the results of Step 1, will post updates on the steps that follow.

Photo credit:
  1. Image 1: Flickr.com
  2. Image 2: Quotesgram.com

 

One thought on “Operation Slumbertime

  1. Pingback: 3 Days 3 Quotes, Day 3! | Blogmaniac

Leave a Reply

