Time for a Coffe Break/update

FranceParisAttacks

If I were having Coffee with you right now… I am sure we would be  discussing about the multiple Terror attacks in Paris last week, and feel  sorry for the innocent victims and the unnecessary lives that were  prematurely killed. I would probably tell you that the pattern of the  attacks reminded me of similar terror attacks in Mumbai in 2008, known  as the 26/11 Mumbai attacks, and urge you not to lose hope in humanity.  This video by one of the victim’s husbands is very touching and definitely  inspiring. I am  sure Paris will rise back stronger than before.I would  applaud the French  Government and Police for their brave and quick  action in handling the  situation.

If I were having Coffee with you right now… I would probably spend a few  minutes ranting about the weather and the windy and chilly evenings at  Derby making it difficult for me to step out of the house after sunset.  I would also talk about the weather back at my home town of Chennai,  a coastal city in Southern India. I would tell you about the heavy rainfall  in Chennai over the last few days that has caused flooding and water  logging in many parts of the city. The  unexpected monsoon has claimed  178 lives across the state of  Tamil Nadu. Friends and Family have been  sharing pictures of  streets that have changed overnight to resemble the  canals of Venice.  Several good Samaritans have been reaching out to help  the people stranded  due to the floods, offering accommodation and  food packets to those in  need. The services offered by a national Cab  service  operator “Ola Cabs” was noteworthy. The online cab aggregator  for personal transportation immediately co-ordinated with  local  fishermen and rowers to offer free Boat services to those  in need. You can read more about it here.

If I were having Coffee with you right now… I would be talking about the  famous Indian Festival of Lights known as Diwali /Deepawali which was  celebrated last week. I would tell you how disappointed I was at first  to be  missing the celebrations in  India. I would then tell you about the  double celebrations we had  this year in Derby over the course of two  weekends  with two  different group of friends : A get-together with my  Husband’s  colleagues and family last weekend and another get-together of the South Indian Association on the weekend before that.  Two  weekends spent blissfully.

If I were having Coffee with you right now… I would tell you how  excited I  am to finally lay my hands on a copy of Jeffrey Archer’s  latest Clifton  Chronicles “Mightier than the Sword”. My Husband  and I have been  waiting forever for the book to be available at our local Library.  I would  say that the long wait was definitely worth it. The book  was a page- turner,with the plot twists as expected from an Archer novel. Eagerly  awaiting the sequel scheduled to be out in  Feb 2016.

If I were having Coffee with you right now… I would definitely give you an  update about my little boy V. I would tell you about the sleepless nights  I have been having off late, due to a sudden change in my son’s sleeping  patterns. I would tell you about his newfound confusion between day  and night and how he has been waking up at 2 AM  every day like an alarm clock and running and jumping around the  house till 6 in the morning.  This has been happening for about two  weeks now.The lack of proper  sleep at night is making me a wreck.  I have been trying  everything I can think of including letting him  get a lot of physical activity during the day  to trying to schedule his  afternoon nap a little early. After a day, he  reverts  to his own  sleeping schedule. Desperately praying and hoping for God to work  his magic and bring back some normalcy and routine into  our  daily schedule. God knows how much I long for a normal 5 hours  sleep at night.

 Image Courtsey : Washington Post
Leave a Reply

