Kickstarting Blogging 101: Who I am and Why I’m Here

New to Blogging,I know I have a long way to go and lots to learn to get my “Dream Blog”  up and running. So, the minute I read about the Blogging 101 & Writing 101 Courses on  WordPress, I signed up for them without a moment’s hesitation. Here’s why :  a) The courses were FREE b) The Assignments were NOT Mandatory and most  importantly c) It seemed like a wonderful platform to connect with other new bloggers  like me.

Bonus : I have also discovered some very interesting Blogs to follow 🙂

Our first task is to write a post on “Who I am and Why I’m here”.

Most of my friends have already finished their assignments and posted them on their blog.

So, not wanting to be lagging behind in my daily assignments (even though they are not mandatory), I will get to the point straight away without any more preamble.

You can call me J. I was born and brought up in India. I have a degree in Accounting and  worked in India for a short while. Around five years back,I got married to my “Prince Charming” and moved to Switzerland shortly after. Due to several reasons, I couldn’t work in Switzerland. Not that I am complaining :). We lived in a small village in the Swiss Countryside and the life there was a complete contrast to the fast-paced city life I was used to earlier in India.This gave me a lot of free time to pursue other interests, mainly  travelling and trekking. I also learnt a bit of German while in Switzerland, something I  hope to follow up in  the future.

After a three year stint in Switzerland, we returned to India with a new addition to the  family : the “apple of my eye”, my darling boy V. Ever since I became a mother, my life  has undergone a sea change. My life seems to revolve around my little boy. My husband and I  started our journey as parents feeling somewhat clueless and lost. From just waiting for the sleepless nights to end at first to then watching V smile, laugh,  giggle, crawl, walk and now talk (albeit just a few words), sometimes I wonder  how on Earth has time passed by  so quickly.

V is two years old now and I know that unless I take some effort to pause and create some lovely memories with V, time will fly.I hope to record and preserve some of  our wonderful  memories in this blog, knowing it will be something we will cherish in the  future.

So, why choose to blog instead of recording them in a Private Journal?

A.To Make New Friends:

Being a Stay-at-Home Parent is hard and to survive the days of tantrums and share your  problems, you definitely need support. Support from the Spouse, Support from your  parents, Support from your Siblings ans Support from Friends. My Husband works in a  Consultancy Firm and so we have had to move cities/countries two times in the past two  years. This means I have to make New Friends, something I have struggled with  ever since I finished College. Making New Friends via Blogging means you don’t have to  worry about losing contact/touch with them after the next move 🙂

B.I Like Writing

I really do enjoy writing. I always have, but also find it very difficult to write consistently.  That is why, I have never been able to maintain a Dairy/Journal. I would discontinue  after the enthusiasm of the initial week.

With a blog, at least I can hope to rely on the Daily Stats Page to serve as a reminder  when I lag behind (like today).

Anyway, I am glad I have finally been able to finish the first assignment. Hope to be more  regular going forward.

7 thoughts on “Kickstarting Blogging 101: Who I am and Why I’m Here

  1. Hi J, Lovely to meet you and read about your life. What a lot of new starts and fresh experiences you have already had. I have the great delight of looking after my grandchildren, Amelie 18 months and Jaky, 5 twice a week, so it is a lovely re-run of my own mothering days. This time around I have less time with them in total but more quality time when they are here. Amelie is sleeping next to me while I am writing this to you. That’s what makes blogging such a great activity. Instant contact with someone thousands of miles away without having to leave the house!

    Like

Leave a Reply

