Pre-school or Home-school – What did we do and why?

Preschool   Nursery

As soon as I found out that I was pregnant, I had decided that I  would be a Stay-at-Home Mom: at least till the day my little one  starts full-time school.

Well, it was not so tough to take the decision considering that I  was not working even before pregnancy. I had to move to Switzerland  after marriage as my husband was based there on deputation and  became a housewife as I simply couldn’t find a suitable job.

Fast forward to a few months after V’s birth, I found a wonderful  opportunity to work-from-home for a start-up in India.I felt excited and thrilled to work again and do something interesting. It  felt great to have something to talk about and discuss other than  mundane domestic issues.

Since then, I couldn’t stop dreaming about the day V would start  school. As then, I would be able to start working full-time outside  home as well.

Considering the current trend wherein kids start their schooling at  much earlier ages; I had also decided to enroll V into a play group at a Montessori school  once he completed 20 months.

Decision taken, my countdown for D-day started.

However, fate decided otherwise and we had to move out of India again due to  my husband’s work.We moved to UK when V was about 14  months old.What was  initially meant to be a 6 months assignment  gradually extended into a one year project.

I instinctively knew that we wouldn’t be able to afford to send V  to a play group in UK on a single income as childcare costs are  exorbitant. Kids start  nursery at around 3 years, and since V was  not even two when  we shifted to the UK, that option was ruled out too.

And so, that is the story of how V gets to enjoy a few more months  of freedom by staying at home while I have decided to compromise  and cut down on a little bit of my free time.

V will start going to a playschool after we return to India at  around 27-28 months of age.

In a way, I am glad it all worked out this way. I feel less  stressed too as I don’t have the pressure of getting V ready by a  stipulated time everyday.

Also, I have learnt a lot about childcare in the last few months mostly by reading other blogs and watching videos and vlogs on YouTube while searching for ways to keep V occupied and entertained.

The best part of it all, is the satisfaction of being able to spend  quality time with V and watch his progress and development.

And THAT is PRICELESS!!!

Leave a comment